Skip to content

Xyne Health is a direct-to-consumer supplement brand based in Daphne, Alabama, United States. Xyne makes dissolvable supplement strips: each strip is a thin, plant-based pullulan film that you place on your tongue, where it dissolves in about 30 seconds. There is nothing to swallow and no water is required. Xyne is made for people who struggle to swallow pills and capsules, people who dislike the chalky taste and texture of powders and shakes, and anyone who wants a supplement routine they will actually keep. The strips contain no sugar and are sweetened with stevia, monk fruit and erythritol. Each tin contains 30 strips and costs $30.00 — exactly one dollar per serving. Subscribe & Save is 10% off ($27.00 a month), and the first subscription order is $20.00. Every formula is single-purpose, with the active ingredients printed on the label and no proprietary blends. The product line includes strips for Energy, Hangover support, Probiotic and Metabolism, Appetite Balance, Bone Support, Cognitive Relax, Iron, Mushroom Focus, Beauty and Collagen, Sleep, and Intimate Vitality. Products are designed in the USA and manufactured at a cGMP-certified facility. Orders ship in 2 business days with free shipping, and are covered by a 30-day money-back guarantee. Reviews are collected from verified buyers and independently verified through Judge.me. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Xyne products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

4.8from 9 verified reviews $10 off your first Subscribe & Save order — pay $20, not $30 Free shipping on every order 30 strips per tin · about $1 a day Nothing to swallow. No sugar. No powder.
Shop →
ALLERGEN-FREE

Vegan, Halal, and Allergen-Free Supplements: What Actually Counts in 2026

Most "vegan" supplements still use gelatin capsules. Most "halal" brands aren't certified. Here's what the labels actually mean, how to read a back panel — and an honest, product-by-product look at which XYNE strips p...

By Brandon HerrionFounder
14 min read
Updated
Article body

A friend of mine spent three months on a "vegan multivitamin" before she actually looked at the panel. The bottle said vegan on the front. The capsule was gelatin. Gelatin is rendered from animal bones and connective tissue. The product was not vegan. It had the word on the label, the marketing imagery to match, and an animal-derived shell holding the powder. This is not a fringe case. It's most of the "vegan" supplement market.

I run a sublingual strip company. The film we use — pullulan — is a plant-derived fermentation product, so the carrier itself is vegan, pork-free, and free of the major food allergens. That's a property of the polymer, not a marketing achievement. But the carrier is not the whole product, and I want to be straight with you up front: not every XYNE strip is vegan. Three of ours aren't, and one contains shellfish. I'll show you exactly which ones below, because the entire point of this article is that the front of the pack is a hypothesis and the back panel is the answer — and that has to apply to my own labels too.

If you've already read Sublingual vs Oral Supplements or the Strips vs Pills decision guide, this article is the format-meets-labeling companion piece. Same plain-spoken framework, applied to the part of the supplement aisle where the labels lie the most.

The "vegan multivitamin with gelatin" problem is real and common

The U.S. supplement market has no enforced legal definition of "vegan" on a label. The FDA regulates "organic," it regulates "non-GMO" through USDA, and it has rules about "natural." It does not regulate "vegan." A brand can write the word on the front and have it mean nothing on the back.

What that produces in practice:

  • Vegan-labeled multivitamins in gelatin capsules. The active ingredients are plant-derived. The capsule shell is animal-derived. Technically the brand is calling the formula vegan, ignoring the shell. Functionally the product isn't vegan.
  • Vegan-labeled gummies with gelatin. Same trick — the marketing emphasizes the fruit-based actives while the gummy matrix is animal collagen.
  • Vegan-labeled softgels with bovine-derived glycerin. Less common but it shows up. The softgel shell can contain animal-derived glycerin.
  • "Plant-based" softgels that are still gelatin. "Plant-based" has even less labeling specificity than "vegan." Sometimes it means the actives. Sometimes nothing.
  • Vegan-labeled D3 derived from lanolin. Lanolin is from sheep wool. Cholecalciferol (D3) is derived from it in most mass-market products. Vegan D3 specifically requires lichen-derived D3, which costs more and is rarely the default — even when "vegan" is on the front.

The pattern: the front-of-pack claim is unregulated. The back panel tells the truth. If you care about this, you have to read the back.

What the three labels actually mean

These three categories — vegan, halal, allergen-free — are often grouped together because the same handful of ingredients fail all three. But they're not synonyms. Here's what each one actually means.

Vegan means no animal-derived ingredients. Period. Capsule shells, gelatin gummies, beeswax coatings, shellac coatings, lanolin-derived D3, fish oil (obviously), bovine glycerin, animal-derived stearates, certain enzyme preparations — all out. The strict-vegan definition extends to ingredients that involved animals in the production process (carmine red dye from cochineal insects, for example), but most consumer interpretations focus on whether the final product contains animal-derived material.

Halal is the Islamic dietary classification for permissible foods and substances. For supplements, "halal" means free of haram (forbidden) sources — primarily pork and pork-derived ingredients (most gelatin in the U.S. is bovine, but a meaningful fraction is porcine), alcohol above trace levels, and non-halal-slaughtered animal derivatives. Halal certification is a formal process — there are recognized certification bodies (more on this in the next section) — and the absence of certification means a brand's "halal" claim is self-declared, which is not the same thing.

Allergen-free is the broadest label and the most variable. The U.S. recognized major food allergens (FDA top 9): milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, and sesame. "Allergen-free" on a supplement label can mean free of all nine, or free of a subset, or sometimes just gluten-free with the rest hand-waved. The substantive version — free of all major allergens — requires the brand to control for cross-contamination during manufacturing, not just the recipe.

The overlap: a product that's genuinely vegan + halal + allergen-free has cleared all three filters. That's a smaller set than each label suggests on its own.

Format-by-format breakdown: which formats fail each filter

Here's the honest breakdown by supplement format. Each format has a baseline relationship to vegan/halal/allergen-free that the brand can sometimes work around, but the baseline tells you what to check for.

Format Vegan by default? Halal-friendly by default? Allergen-free by default? What to watch for
Gelatin capsules No (gelatin is animal) No (often porcine in U.S. market) Yes typically The shell is the problem; some brands offer "plant cap" versions
Plant cap capsules (HPMC, pullulan) Yes Yes Yes Read the actives — vegan shell doesn't mean vegan inside
Gelatin gummies No No (gelatin source varies) Sometimes (often gluten-free, depends on additives) Look for pectin-based instead
Pectin gummies Yes Yes Mostly — but check sweeteners for allergens Sugar levels still high
Tablets Mostly yes Mostly yes Mostly yes Binders matter — magnesium stearate, lubricants can have varied sources
Softgels No (gelatin shell, often with glycerin) Depends on source Usually yes "Vegan softgel" is a specific subcategory using modified starch shells
Sublingual strips (pullulan film) The film is, yes The film is, yes The film is, yes Read the actives — pullulan is plant-derived, but the ingredients loaded into it decide the product
Liquid drops Depends on base Depends on alcohol content Depends on flavoring Alcohol carriers are a halal issue

The pattern: gelatin is the most common failure mode across formats. Capsules, gummies, and softgels all default to gelatin in the U.S. market, and the most common gelatin sources are bovine and porcine. Pullulan-based strips sidestep that particular failure mode because pullulan is a fermented-starch polysaccharide — no animal involvement at any step in the film itself.

That's not a marketing claim. It's a property of the polymer. It also only covers the film.

The halal certification question — what counts

Halal certification matters because the word on a label is unregulated in the U.S., and the actual mechanism for confirming halal status is third-party certification by a recognized Islamic certification body. A few that count internationally:

  • IFANCA (Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America) — one of the largest U.S.-based halal certifiers, audits manufacturing facilities, reviews ingredients to a documented standard.
  • ISWA Halal Certification Department (Islamic Society of the Washington Area) — another recognized U.S. certifier.
  • Halal Food Authority (UK) — for products in or imported to the UK market.
  • JAKIM (Malaysia) — the gold standard internationally; products certified under JAKIM are recognized in most of the Muslim world.
  • MUI (Indonesia) — similar standing in Indonesia and ASEAN markets.
  • HFFIA (Halal Feed and Food Inspection Authority) — Netherlands-based, widely recognized in Europe.

What does not count as halal certification:

  • A brand's own claim that the product is halal without third-party audit.
  • A statement like "no pork, no alcohol" — true but not the same as certification.
  • The presence of a halal-looking logo or Arabic script on packaging that isn't tied to a named certifying body.
  • "Suitable for halal diets" — a marketing phrase, not a certification.

If you're choosing a supplement based on halal status, the certification mark and the name of the issuing body should be on the package or on the brand's verifiable documentation. If they're not, the claim is self-declared. That's not categorically bad — many genuinely halal-compatible products aren't certified because certification costs money and brands serving small Muslim markets skip the step — but you should know which one you're looking at.

Where XYNE stands, plainly: we do not currently hold halal certification from any of the bodies above, and I'm not going to imply otherwise. What I can tell you is the ingredient profile: the pullulan film contains no pork-derived and no alcohol-based ingredients. Most of our strips are free of animal-derived material entirely. Three are not — Bone Support uses lanolin-sourced D3, Beauty + Collagen uses an animal collagen peptide, and Intimate Vitality contains oyster peptide. If you observe halal and want certified products, we are a self-declared, ingredient-profile answer, not a certified one. That's the honest line.

Common hidden non-vegan / non-halal ingredients

The label reading is easier once you know the names of the usual suspects. Here's the short list, ranked by how often each one slips through:

Gelatin. Animal protein from bones and connective tissue. The most common offender. Used in capsule shells, gummy matrices, softgel shells. Source can be bovine, porcine, fish, or rarely poultry. "Bovine gelatin" is sometimes acceptable to halal consumers if from a halal-slaughtered source; "porcine gelatin" never is. Plain "gelatin" on a label without source disclosure should be treated as suspect for both vegan and halal purposes.

Beeswax. Used as a coating or thickener. Vegan no, halal yes (bees aren't haram). If you're strict-vegan, this is a fail.

Shellac. A resin secreted by the lac insect, used as a tablet coating for slow release or shine. Vegan no. Halal generally acceptable but worth checking for the strict interpretations.

Carmine / cochineal extract. Red coloring from crushed insects. Vegan no. Halal: scholarly debate, but most certifiers exclude it.

Lanolin-derived vitamin D3. Cholecalciferol from sheep wool. Vegan no (animal-derived). Halal usually yes (animal-derived but not haram source). The vegan version is lichen-derived D3. This is the one that makes our own Bone Support strip non-vegan — same ingredient, same honest disclosure.

Collagen peptides. Collagen is animal protein by definition — bovine, porcine, or marine. There is no such thing as vegan collagen; products marketed that way are usually "collagen builders" (vitamin C, amino acids) rather than collagen. Our Beauty + Collagen strip contains a collagen peptide and is therefore not vegan.

Fish oil / krill oil / cod liver oil / shellfish-derived peptides. Obvious for vegan (no). For allergen purposes, fish and shellfish are two separate entries on the FDA Top 9, and shellfish-derived ingredients like oyster peptide must be disclosed. Our Intimate Vitality strip contains oyster peptide — that is a shellfish allergen. If you have a shellfish allergy, do not take it.

Glycerin (animal-derived). Used in softgel shells. Can be plant-derived (vegetable glycerin, from palm or coconut) or animal-derived (from tallow). The label often says only "glycerin" without source. If "vegan" or "plant-based glycerin" isn't explicitly stated, assume mixed origin.

Magnesium stearate. A flow agent in tablets. Can be plant-derived or animal-derived. Generally considered acceptable for vegan and halal in trace amounts, but strict interpretations vary. Worth knowing if you're a hard-line label reader.

Whey-derived enzymes and lactose. Milk-derived, fails vegan. Halal generally yes (milk is permissible) but worth checking source.

L-cysteine (from human hair or duck feathers). Used in some amino acid blends. Vegan no. Halal: depends entirely on source — feather-derived can be halal if the bird is permissible, but documentation is usually absent.

The rule: any ingredient name you don't recognize, look it up. Manufacturers usually have a "source" field they can disclose if asked. Brands that won't disclose source generally aren't the ones to trust on these claims.

The allergen-free question: what to actually check for

The FDA Top 9 allergens — milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, sesame — are the categories that have to be declared on food labels in the U.S. Supplements fall under similar requirements via FALCPA (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act). For background, the FDA's allergen guidance is the source document.

What that means practically for a supplement aisle shopper:

  • "Gluten-free" is a separate FDA claim from the Top 9. It's regulated — a "gluten-free" labeled product must contain under 20 ppm gluten. Most supplements that bother to make the claim meet the standard.
  • "Dairy-free" is mostly self-declared but the major allergen disclosure makes intentional dairy inclusion impossible to hide. Watch for whey, casein, lactose, milk solids.
  • "Soy-free" matters because soy lecithin is a common emulsifier in softgels and gummies. The Top 9 disclosure forces it to be listed, but cross-contamination during manufacturing is the slippery part. Brands that publish a soy-free certification have controlled for both ingredient and facility.
  • "Nut-free" for supplements usually means tree-nut-free and peanut-free. Cross-contamination matters here too — facilities that also produce nut-containing products carry risk even when the formula is nut-free.
  • "Sesame-free" is the newest of the Top 9 (added in 2023 via FASTER Act). Many older supplement formulations weren't audited for it; newer products are.
  • "Shellfish-free" is worth checking on anything containing marine-sourced peptides, glucosamine, or oyster extract. This is a genuine allergen category, not a dietary preference.

The substantive version of "allergen-free" is: ingredient free, AND manufactured in a facility that controls for cross-contamination. The marketing version is: "we didn't put any in the recipe." Both are valid claims, but they're different claims.

For people with serious allergies, the facility-level version is the one that matters — and if you have a diagnosed allergy, talk to your doctor before adding anything new, no matter what the label says.

The XYNE lineup, product by product — including the ones that fail

Every XYNE strip uses the same pullulan film, so the carrier is consistent. What differs is what's loaded into it. Here is the whole line, and I'm not hiding the three that don't pass.

Strip Key actives Vegan? Allergen notes
Energy L-theanine, caffeine (green tea), B12 methylcobalamin Yes No FDA Top 9 allergens in the formula
Hangover Curcumin, andrographis, phyllanthus, date palm, grape, chicory, licorice Yes All botanical
Probiotic + Metabolism Bifidobacterium lactis 10B CFU, polydextrose 50mg Yes No FDA Top 9 allergens in the formula
Appetite Balance Chromium picolinate 75mcg, molybdenum 10mcg, saffron 10mg Yes No FDA Top 9 allergens in the formula
Bone Support Vitamin D3 2000 IU, vitamin K2 120mcg No — D3 is lanolin-derived (sheep wool) No FDA Top 9 allergens; not suitable for vegans
Cognitive Relax L-theanine 50mg, GABA 25mg, vitamin B6 6mg Yes No FDA Top 9 allergens in the formula
Iron Iron (ferric saccharate) 19mg, folate 400mcg Vegetarian-compatible No FDA Top 9 allergens in the formula
Mushroom Focus Lion's mane 30mg, maitake 25mg, cordyceps 25mg, shiitake 20mg (fruiting body extracts) Yes Mushrooms are not an FDA Top 9 allergen, but mushroom sensitivity exists — check if you react to fungi
Beauty + Collagen Collagen peptide 100mg, vitamin E 6mg No — collagen is animal-derived Manufacturer does not specify the collagen source; we will not guess at it on the label
Sleep Melatonin, valerian, chamomile, lavender, hibiscus Yes No FDA Top 9 allergens in the formula
Intimate Vitality Cordyceps militaris 50mg, shilajit 50mg, oyster peptide 20mg No — oyster peptide CONTAINS SHELLFISH. Do not take if you have a shellfish allergy.

Three fails out of eleven. I could have written this article without that table and nobody would have noticed. But a labeling article that soft-pedals its own labels isn't worth reading, and if you're vegan or allergic, a vague brand-level "we're vegan-friendly!" is exactly the kind of claim that got my friend three months into a gelatin capsule.

Where a product's source isn't published by the manufacturer — the collagen peptide is the live example — we say "source not specified" rather than inventing a nicer-sounding one. "Marine collagen" would read better on a page. We don't know that it's marine, so we don't write it.

Why the pullulan film clears all three by default

This is the structural part, and it genuinely is chemistry rather than marketing.

Pullulan is a polysaccharide (specifically α-1,4- and α-1,6-linked maltotriose) produced by the fermentation of starch by the fungus Aureobasidium pullulans. The starch source for commercial pullulan is typically tapioca. The fermentation is the production step. There is no animal involvement at any stage. It is a plant-derived polysaccharide, full stop.

What that gets you for free — in the film:

  • Vegan. No gelatin. No beeswax. No shellac. No animal glycerin. The strip base is a plant fermentation product.
  • Halal-compatible by ingredient. Pullulan contains no pork and no alcohol. (Compatible by ingredient profile — not third-party certified, as covered above.)
  • Allergen-friendly. Pullulan doesn't contain milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soy, or sesame. The starch source (tapioca) is gluten-free.

We also don't need sugar to make the strips palatable — they're sweetened with stevia, monk fruit, and erythritol, with no added sugar in any SKU.

The honest caveat, restated because it's the whole point: the strip is the carrier. The actives loaded into it have their own sources, and those decide whether the finished product is vegan or allergen-safe. A pullulan film wrapped around a collagen peptide is not a vegan product. Ours isn't. Read the panel — including mine.

Frequently asked questions

Are gelatin capsules vegan?
No. Gelatin is animal-derived, produced by hydrolyzing collagen from bones, skin, and connective tissue of cattle, pigs, fish, or poultry. A product in a gelatin capsule is not vegan, regardless of what the contents are. Vegan-compatible alternatives include HPMC (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose) and pullulan capsules.

Is pullulan vegan and halal?
Yes. Pullulan is a polysaccharide produced by fermenting starch (usually tapioca) with a non-pathogenic fungus, Aureobasidium pullulans. No animal-derived inputs at any stage. It is plant-derived and considered both vegan and halal-compatible. Many halal-certified products use pullulan in their capsule shells or film coatings for exactly this reason. Note that this describes the film, not necessarily everything loaded into it.

Are all XYNE strips vegan?
No, and we say so on the products themselves. Bone Support is not vegan because its vitamin D3 is lanolin-derived (sheep wool). Beauty + Collagen is not vegan because collagen is animal protein. Intimate Vitality is not vegan and contains oyster peptide, a shellfish allergen. The rest of the line is free of animal-derived ingredients. Iron and Mushroom Focus are vegetarian-compatible and free of the FDA Top 9 allergens.

Is XYNE halal-certified?
No. We do not currently hold certification from IFANCA, JAKIM, MUI, or any other recognized halal certification body, and we don't put a halal mark on the packaging. What we can say is that the pullulan film contains no pork-derived or alcohol-based ingredients. If certification is your requirement, we don't meet it yet — that's a self-declared ingredient-profile answer, and you should know the difference.

Are all vitamin D3 supplements vegan?
No. The default source for vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is lanolin, which is extracted from sheep wool. Lanolin-derived D3 is not vegan. Vegan D3 specifically requires lichen-derived cholecalciferol. Vegan D3 exists but is the exception in the mass market; brands selling it will explicitly call out "lichen-derived" or "vegan D3" on the label. Our own Bone Support strip uses lanolin-derived D3 and is labelled not vegan for that reason.

Can I trust a "vegan" label on a U.S. supplement without certification?
Cautiously. The U.S. has no enforced legal definition of "vegan" on supplement labels, so the claim is brand-attested. Reputable brands' claims are usually accurate; less reputable ones use "vegan" as a marketing shortcut while shipping gelatin capsules. The reliable check is the back panel — read the "other ingredients" section for gelatin, beeswax, shellac, lanolin-derived D3, animal glycerin, collagen, or fish/krill oil. If none of those appear and the actives are plant-compatible, the claim is substantively accurate.


If you've gotten this far, the framework is: read the back panel, learn the failure-mode ingredient names, and treat the front-of-pack claim as a starting hypothesis instead of a fact. Most "vegan" supplements that fail are failing on the capsule shell. Most "halal" supplements that fail are failing on uncertified self-claim. Most "allergen-free" supplements that fail are failing on cross-contamination, not ingredient choice.

What XYNE is: a pullulan strip that dissolves in about 30 seconds, with nothing to swallow and no water needed, for people who gag on capsules or can't stand the taste of powders. 30 strips per tin, $29.99, about a dollar a day, every active and dose printed on the label with no proprietary blends. Designed in the USA and manufactured at a cGMP-certified facility specialising in sublingual delivery. Most of the line is vegan; three products aren't, and they say so. Take a look at the lineup, or start with the quiz if you want a recommendation tailored to what you're actually after. And if you want the format arguments underneath all of this, the sublingual-vs-oral piece and the strips-vs-pills decision guide are the deeper reads.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Related reading

Article meta and related